BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Orlando, FL (2026)

Orlando prices building permits with a fee table based on project value, with a $64.94 minimum. Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective not stated
  • Verified Nov 4, 2026
Minimum fee
$64.94
Plan review
None
$75k addition
$425

Permit fee calculator

Orlando schedule
Project type
Estimated permit fees $425.01
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    $64.94 for the first $1,000.00 + $4.32 × 74 per $1,000.00 over
    $384.62
  2. 2. Administrative Inspection Fund
    1.5% of $384.62
    $5.77
  3. 3. DCA Operational Trust Fund Surcharge
    1% of $384.62
    $3.85
  4. 4. Technology Surcharge
    3% of $384.62
    $11.54
  5. 5. Concurrency Surcharge
    5% of $384.62
    $19.23

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$186.64
$168.62 building permit + $2.53 administrative inspection fund + $2.00 dca operational trust fund surcharge + $5.06 technology surcharge + $8.43 concurrency surcharge
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
$425.01
$384.62 building permit + $5.77 administrative inspection fund + $3.85 dca operational trust fund surcharge + $11.54 technology surcharge + $19.23 concurrency surcharge
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$1,737.75
$1,572.62 building permit + $23.59 administrative inspection fund + $15.73 dca operational trust fund surcharge + $47.18 technology surcharge + $78.63 concurrency surcharge

How Orlando calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using a fee table based on project value, with a $64.94 minimum.

The fee table

Residential 1 or 2 units

Project valueFee
$1 – $1,000$64.94
Over $1,000$64.94 for the first $1,000 + $4.32 per additional $1,000 or fraction

Commercial and residential 3 units or more

Project valueFee
$1 – $1,000$64.94
$1,001 – $25,000$64.94 for the first $1,000 + $10.81 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$25,001 – $100,000$324.38 for the first $25,000 + $9.20 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$100,001 – $1,000,000$1,014.38 for the first $100,000 + $8.12 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$1,000,001 – $2,000,000$8,322.38 for the first $1,000,000 + $7.04 per additional $1,000 or fraction
Over $2,000,000$15,362.38 for the first $2,000,000 + $6.49 per additional $1,000 or fraction

Surcharges

  • Administrative Inspection Fund: 1.5% of the permit fee, minimum $2.00
  • DCA Operational Trust Fund Surcharge: 1% of the permit fee, minimum $2.00
  • Technology Surcharge: 3% of the permit fee
  • Concurrency Surcharge: 5% of the permit fee

What counts as project value

Higher of your bid or the valuation table. Construction cost will be calculated using the ICC Building Valuation Data chart (Building Safety Journal) or the contracted price, whichever is greater.

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: $64.94 for the first $1,000.00 + $4.32 × 349 per $1,000.00 over = $1,572.62
  2. Administrative Inspection Fund: 1.5% of $1,572.62 = $23.59
  3. DCA Operational Trust Fund Surcharge: 1% of $1,572.62 = $15.73
  4. Technology Surcharge: 3% of $1,572.62 = $47.18
  5. Concurrency Surcharge: 5% of $1,572.62 = $78.63
  6. Total before trade permits: $1,737.75.

Fees people miss

FeeAmount
Plan revision fee, residential (third or later submittal)When: second or later plan revision $50.00 each
Plan revision fee, commercial (third or later submittal)When: second or later plan revision $250.00 each
Re-inspection feeWhen: reinspection $150.00 each
Inspection cancelation fee (24 hours notice or less)When: late inspection cancelation $50.00 each
Change of use/occupancyWhen: change of use $50.00 each
Overtime inspectionsWhen: overtime inspection requested $292.00 first four hours
Violation penalty, work without a permitWhen: work started without a permit additional 100% of applicable permit fee
Sewer lateral construction, residentialWhen: new sewer lateral $2,950.00 per lateral
Annual facilities permit (commercial)When: annual facilities permit holders $1,500.00 per year
Temporary certificate of occupancy (commercial)When: TCO requested $125.00 per certificate

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value.
  2. Submit to Economic Development Department, Permitting Services Division.
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.
  4. Questions: 407.246.2271 · City Hall, 400 South Orange Avenue, First Floor, Orlando, FL 32802

How Orlando compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $186.64 in Orlando: 51% below the national median of $380.00, and the 5th lowest of 19 places we cover in Florida (state median $348.08).

A $75,000 addition costs $425.01 in Orlando: 48% below the national median of $820.58, and the 7th lowest of 17 places we cover in Florida (state median $500.09).

A $350,000 new home costs $1,737.75 in Orlando: 40% below the national median of $2,918.63, and the 6th lowest of 19 places we cover in Florida (state median $2,400.00).

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All Florida places · Compare side by side

Orlando permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Orlando, FL?

A $25,000 remodel: $186.64. A $75,000 addition: $425.01. A $350,000 new single-family: $1,737.75. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

Is plan review included in the Orlando permit fee?

Orlando lists no separate plan review fee for these projects.

How does Orlando determine project value?

Higher of your bid or the valuation table. Construction cost will be calculated using the ICC Building Valuation Data chart (Building Safety Journal) or the contracted price, whichever is greater.

When did these Orlando fees take effect?

The schedule does not state an effective date. We last checked it against the official source on Nov 4, 2026.