BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Decatur, IL (2026)

Decatur prices building permits with 0.5% of project value, with a $50.00 minimum, then charges plan review at 10% of the permit fee (minimum $75.00). Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective not stated
  • Verified Nov 5, 2026
Minimum fee
$50.00
Plan review
10%
$75k addition
$450

Permit fee calculator

Decatur schedule
Project type
Estimated permit fees $450.00
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    0.5% of $75,000.00
    $375.00
  2. 2. Plan review fee
    10% of $375.00 → minimum $75.00
    $75.00

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$200.00
$125.00 building permit + $75.00 plan review
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
$450.00
$375.00 building permit + $75.00 plan review
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$1,925.00
$1,750.00 building permit + $175.00 plan review

How Decatur calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using 0.5% of project value, with a $50.00 minimum. Plan review is a separate charge: 10% of the permit fee (minimum $75.00).

The fee table

Residential (one- and two-family dwellings)

0.5% of project value, with a $50.00 minimum.

Commercial (incl. mixed use in one structure)

0.75% of project value, with a $150.00 minimum.

What counts as project value

Your contract or bid price. Project Value includes the value of all work performed (materials, labor and site improvements) and is subject to review and adjustment by the building official if not in line with current industry costs.

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: 0.5% of $350,000.00 = $1,750.00
  2. Plan review fee: 10% of $1,750.00 = $175.00
  3. Total before trade permits: $1,925.00.

Fees people miss

FeeAmount
ReinspectionWhen: inspection cannot be completed (work incomplete, covered, no entry, uncorrected violations) $45.00 each
Permit continuanceWhen: permit expired before work completed / final inspection $50.00 each
Additional plan review (third and later)When: more than two plan reviews $100.00 each (residential; commercial $250)

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value.
  2. Submit to Building Inspections Division through OpenGov.
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.
  4. Questions: 217/424-2787

How Decatur compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $200.00 in Decatur: 47% below the national median of $380.00, and the 3rd lowest of 10 places we cover in Illinois (state median $250.00).

A $75,000 addition costs $450.00 in Decatur: 45% below the national median of $820.58, and the 3rd lowest of 9 places we cover in Illinois (state median $600.00).

A $350,000 new home costs $1,925.00 in Decatur: 34% below the national median of $2,918.63, and the 3rd lowest of 9 places we cover in Illinois (state median $2,460.00).

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All Illinois places · Compare side by side

Decatur permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Decatur, IL?

A $25,000 remodel: $200.00. A $75,000 addition: $450.00. A $350,000 new single-family: $1,925.00. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

Is plan review included in the Decatur permit fee?

No. Plan review is charged separately at 10% of the permit fee (minimum $75.00).

How does Decatur determine project value?

Your contract or bid price. Project Value includes the value of all work performed (materials, labor and site improvements) and is subject to review and adjustment by the building official if not in line with current industry costs.

When did these Decatur fees take effect?

The schedule does not state an effective date. We last checked it against the official source on Nov 5, 2026.