BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Ontario, CA (2026)

Ontario prices building permits with a fee table based on project value, plus a $50.00 application fee, with a $30.00 minimum, then charges plan review at 80% of the permit fee. Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective Aug 22, 2026
  • Verified Nov 4, 2026
Minimum fee
$30.00
Plan review
80%
$75k addition
$1,964

Permit fee calculator

Ontario schedule, eff. Aug 22, 2026
Project type
Estimated permit fees $1,963.70
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    $834.00 for the first $50,000.00 + $9.00 × 25 per $1,000.00 over
    $1,059.00
  2. 2. Application fee
    fixed
    $50.00
  3. 3. Plan review fee
    80% of $1,059.00
    $847.20
  4. 4. Earthquake (Residential) - state Strong Motion fee
    0.01% of $75,000.00
    $7.50

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$957.90
$503.00 building permit + $50.00 application + $402.40 plan review + $2.50 earthquake (residential) - state strong motion
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
$1,963.70
$1,059.00 building permit + $50.00 application + $847.20 plan review + $7.50 earthquake (residential) - state strong motion
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$5,553.40
$3,038.00 building permit + $50.00 application + $2,430.40 plan review + $35.00 earthquake (residential) - state strong motion

How Ontario calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using a fee table based on project value, plus a $50.00 application fee, with a $30.00 minimum. Plan review is a separate charge: 80% of the permit fee.

The fee table

Project valueFee
$1 – $500$30.00
$501 – $2,000$30.00 for the first $500 + $3.90 per additional $100 or fraction
$2,001 – $25,000$89.00 for the first $2,000 + $18.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$25,001 – $50,000$507.00 for the first $25,000 + $13.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$50,001 – $100,000$834.00 for the first $50,000 + $9.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$100,001 – $500,000$1,288.00 for the first $100,000 + $7.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$500,001 – $1,000,000$4,193.00 for the first $500,000 + $6.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
Over $1,000,000$7,273.00 for the first $1,000,000 + $4.73 per additional $1,000 or fraction

Plus an application fee of $50.00.

Surcharges

  • Earthquake (Residential) - state Strong Motion fee: 0.01% of the project value
  • Earthquake (Commercial) - state Strong Motion fee: 0.021% of the project value

What counts as project value

Not stated in the schedule. Building permit fees are by valuation ('Valuation: $1 to $500' ...); the schedule does not say how valuation is determined.

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: $1,288.00 for the first $100,000.00 + $7.00 × 250 per $1,000.00 over = $3,038.00
  2. Application fee: fixed = $50.00
  3. Plan review fee: 80% of $3,038.00 = $2,430.40
  4. Earthquake (Residential) - state Strong Motion fee: 0.01% of $350,000.00 = $35.00
  5. Total before trade permits: $5,553.40.

Fees people miss

May also apply (not in the totals above)

  • Building Permit (Single Family Home) - Flat Fee Review: when to a new single-family home when the Building Department applies its flat-fee review (the schedule does not say whether it replaces or adds to the valuation-based permit fee); $2,624.91 on the standard projects.
FeeAmount
Building Permit (Multi Family Home) - Flat Fee ReviewWhen: multi-family home flat-fee review, subject to Building Department's review $2,403.51 each
Building Plan Check (hourly)When: hourly plan check $143.36 per hour
Exhibit/Phasing Plan CheckWhen: exhibit or phasing plan check $286.72 per hour, 2 hour minimum
Expedited Plan Check Program (less than $1 million)When: expedited plan check requested original plan check fee plus 50%
After Hours InspectionWhen: after-hours inspection requested $215.04 per hour, 4 hour minimum
Soil Disturbance Permit - Dust ControlWhen: soil disturbance / dust control permit required $301.00 each

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value.
  2. Submit to Community Development - Building Department.
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.
  4. Questions: 909-395-2023 · 303 East B Street, Ontario, CA 91764

How Ontario compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $957.90 in Ontario: about 2.5 times the national median of $380.00, and the 13th lowest of 43 places we cover in California (state median $1,263.01).

A $75,000 addition costs $1,963.70 in Ontario: about 2.4 times the national median of $820.58, and the 16th lowest of 45 places we cover in California (state median $2,473.00).

A $350,000 new home costs $5,553.40 in Ontario: 90% above the national median of $2,918.63, and the 15th lowest of 47 places we cover in California (state median $6,927.50).

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All California places · Compare side by side

Ontario permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Ontario, CA?

A $25,000 remodel: $957.90. A $75,000 addition: $1,963.70. A $350,000 new single-family: $5,553.40. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

Is plan review included in the Ontario permit fee?

No. Plan review is charged separately at 80% of the permit fee.

How does Ontario determine project value?

Not stated in the schedule. Building permit fees are by valuation ('Valuation: $1 to $500' ...); the schedule does not say how valuation is determined.

When did these Ontario fees take effect?

The schedule is effective Aug 22, 2026 (“Citywide Fee Schedule as of July 1, 2026; building permit fee rows effective 8/22/2026; plan check percentages effective 7/1/2023”). We last checked it against the official source on Nov 4, 2026.