BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Upland, CA (2026)

Upland prices building permits with a fee table based on project value, then charges plan review at its own fee table. Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective Oct 1, 2026
  • Verified Nov 5, 2026
Minimum fee
—
Plan review
Separate
$75k addition
$2,870

Permit fee calculator

Upland schedule, eff. Oct 1, 2026
Project type
Estimated permit fees $2,869.98
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    $1,291.08 for the first $50,000.00 + $15.49 × 25 per $1,000.00 over
    $1,678.33
  2. 2. Plan review fee
    $839.20 for the first $50,000.00 + $10.07 × 25 per $1,000.00 over
    $1,090.95
  3. 3. General Plan Update Fee
    6% of $1,678.33
    $100.70

May also apply (not in the total)

  • Building Permit Issuance Fee
    When: the issuance fee is charged on top of the permit and plan check tables (the schedule's combined table says it includes processing; not confirmed)
    $82.00
  • Energy review
    When: the project requires Title 24 energy review (typical for new homes and additions)
    $154.00
  • Penalty for not obtaining a permit
    When: work started without a permit
    $2,517.50

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$766.42
$723.04 building permit + $43.38 general plan update
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
$2,869.98
$1,678.33 building permit + $1,090.95 plan review + $100.70 general plan update
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$8,499.14
$4,970.70 building permit + $3,230.20 plan review + $298.24 general plan update

How Upland calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using a fee table based on project value. Plan review is a separate charge: its own fee table.

The fee table

Project valueFee
$1 – $2,000$185.76
$2,001 – $25,000$185.76 for the first $2,000 + $23.36 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$25,001 – $50,000$723.02 for the first $25,000 + $22.72 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$50,001 – $100,000$1,291.08 for the first $50,000 + $15.49 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$100,001 – $500,000$2,065.70 for the first $100,000 + $11.62 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$500,001 – $1,000,000$6,713.49 for the first $500,000 + $7.23 per additional $1,000 or fraction
Over $1,000,000$10,328.44 for the first $1,000,000 + $4.82 per additional $1,000 or fraction

Surcharges

  • General Plan Update Fee: 6% of the permit fee

What counts as project value

Not stated in the schedule. Permit and plan check fees are valuation tables ('Minimum Value / Maximum Value'); the schedule does not say how valuation is determined.

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: $2,065.70 for the first $100,000.00 + $11.62 × 250 per $1,000.00 over = $4,970.70
  2. Plan review fee: $1,342.70 for the first $100,000.00 + $7.55 × 250 per $1,000.00 over = $3,230.20
  3. General Plan Update Fee: 6% of $4,970.70 = $298.24
  4. Total before trade permits: $8,499.14.

Fees people miss

May also apply (not in the totals above)

  • Building Permit Issuance Fee: when the issuance fee is charged on top of the permit and plan check tables (the schedule's combined table says it includes processing; not confirmed); $82.00 on the standard projects.
  • Penalty for not obtaining a permit: when work started without a permit; $1,084.56 on the standard projects.
  • Energy review: when the project requires Title 24 energy review (typical for new homes and additions); $154.00 on the standard projects.
FeeAmount
Tract repeats plan checkWhen: tract repeat single-family 25% of plan check fee
Additional plan review (changes/revisions)When: revisions to approved plans $206.00 minimum
Building re-inspectionWhen: re-inspection $227.00 each
Temporary certificate of occupancyWhen: temporary CO requested $371.00 each
Reinstatement of expired permitWhen: expired permit reinstated $288.00 each + original permit fee
Credit/debit card service feeWhen: paying by card $3.75 percent of transaction
Development impact feesWhen: depending on project scope and size see Development Impact Fees

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value.
  2. Submit to Building and Safety Division through Citizen Self Service Portal (CSS).
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.

How Upland compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $766.42 in Upland: about twice the national median of $380.00, and the 4th lowest of 43 places we cover in California (state median $1,263.01).

A $75,000 addition costs $2,869.98 in Upland: about 3.5 times the national median of $820.58, and the 20th highest of 45 places we cover in California (state median $2,473.00).

A $350,000 new home costs $8,499.14 in Upland: about 2.9 times the national median of $2,918.63, and the 17th highest of 47 places we cover in California (state median $6,927.50).

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All California places · Compare side by side

Upland permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Upland, CA?

A $25,000 remodel: $766.42. A $75,000 addition: $2,869.98. A $350,000 new single-family: $8,499.14. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

Is plan review included in the Upland permit fee?

No. Plan review is charged separately at its own fee table.

How does Upland determine project value?

Not stated in the schedule. Permit and plan check fees are valuation tables ('Minimum Value / Maximum Value'); the schedule does not say how valuation is determined.

When did these Upland fees take effect?

The schedule is effective Oct 1, 2026 (“Effective October 1, 2026”). We last checked it against the official source on Nov 5, 2026.