BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Shreveport, LA (2026)

Shreveport prices building permits with $0.13 per square foot, with a $31.50 minimum. Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective not stated
  • Verified Nov 4, 2026
Minimum fee
$31.50
Plan review
None
$75k addition
—

Permit fee calculator

Shreveport schedule
Project type
Estimated permit fees $105.00
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    $0.00 for the first $0.00 + $4.20 × 25 per $1,000.00 over
    $105.00

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$105.00
$105.00 building permit
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
n/a
No building-permit formula for this project type.
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$312.00
$312.00 building permit

How Shreveport calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using $0.13 per square foot, with a $31.50 minimum.

The fee table

Residential new construction, dwelling (one, two or three units)

$0.13 per square foot, with a $31.50 minimum.

Residential repairs, alterations and renovations

Project valueFee
Over $0$4.20 per $1,000 or fraction

Commercial new construction and new additions

Project valueFee
$1 – $5,000,000$5.25 per $1,000 or fraction
Over $5,000,000$26,250.00 for the first $5,000,000 + $2.63 per additional $1,000 or fraction

Commercial repairs, alterations or renovations

Project valueFee
Over $0$5.25 per $1,000 or fraction

What counts as project value

Floor area (square feet). Residential new construction: gross square footage of the structures. Repairs, alterations and renovations: signed contract price or affidavit of contract price, rounded to the next $1,000.

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: 2,400 sq ft × $0.13 = $312.00
  2. Total before trade permits: $312.00.

Fees people miss

FeeAmount
Inspection fee (inside city limits)When: per inspection performed; count depends on project and trades $68.25 per inspection
Inspection fee (outside city limits)When: permits issued outside the city limits (Caddo Parish) $68.25 per inspection
Reinspection feeWhen: failed inspection $68.25 each
Residential miscellaneous construction (fences, paving, retaining walls, swimming pools)When: miscellaneous construction $4.25 per $1,000 of contract amount
Working without a permitWhen: work started without a permit $100.00 double permit fee plus $100 penalty

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value and floor area.
  2. Submit to Division of Permits and Inspections online through MGO Connect.
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.
  4. Questions: (318) 673-6105 · 505 Travis St., Shreveport, LA

How Shreveport compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $105.00 in Shreveport: 72% below the national median of $380.00.

A $350,000 new home costs $312.00 in Shreveport: 89% below the national median of $2,918.63.

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All Louisiana places · Compare side by side

Shreveport permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Shreveport, LA?

A $25,000 remodel: $105.00. A $350,000 new single-family: $312.00. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

Is plan review included in the Shreveport permit fee?

Shreveport lists no separate plan review fee for these projects.

How does Shreveport determine project value?

Floor area (square feet). Residential new construction: gross square footage of the structures. Repairs, alterations and renovations: signed contract price or affidavit of contract price, rounded to the next $1,000.

When did these Shreveport fees take effect?

The schedule does not state an effective date. We last checked it against the official source on Nov 4, 2026.