BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Knoxville, TN (2026)

Knoxville prices building permits with a fee table based on project value, with a $50.00 minimum, then charges plan review at its own fee table (minimum $50.00). Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective not stated
  • Verified Nov 4, 2026
Minimum fee
$50.00
Plan review
Separate
$75k addition
$463

Permit fee calculator

Knoxville schedule
Project type
Estimated permit fees $462.50
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    $0.00 for the first $0.00 + $0.55 × 750 per $100.00 over
    $412.50
  2. 2. Plan review fee
    $0.00 for the first $0.00 + $0.03 × 750 per $100.00 over → minimum $50.00
    $50.00

May also apply (not in the total)

  • Mechanical trade permit associated with a building permit
    When: project includes mechanical work (separate trade permit); fee is the greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of the mechanical trade valuation, $55 minimum
    $112.50
  • Electrical trade permit associated with a building permit
    When: project includes electrical work (separate trade permit); fee is the greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of the electrical trade valuation, $55 minimum
    $112.50
  • Plumbing trade permit associated with a building permit
    When: project includes plumbing work (separate trade permit); fee is the greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of the plumbing trade valuation, $55 minimum
    $112.50
  • Credit card processing fee
    When: payment by credit card
    $12.72

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$187.50
$137.50 building permit + $50.00 plan review
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
$462.50
$412.50 building permit + $50.00 plan review
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$2,012.50
$1,925.00 building permit + $87.50 plan review

How Knoxville calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using a fee table based on project value, with a $50.00 minimum. Plan review is a separate charge: its own fee table (minimum $50.00). Electrical, plumbing and mechanical work gets its own permits.

The fee table

Project valueFee
$1 – $500,000$0.55 per $100
$500,001 – $2,000,000$2,750.00 for the first $500,000 + $0.45 per additional $100
$2,000,001 – $20,000,000$9,500.00 for the first $2,000,000 + $0.35 per additional $100
Over $20,000,000$72,500.00 for the first $20,000,000 + $0.25 per additional $100

What counts as project value

Not stated in the schedule. Fees are a percentage of project valuation; the schedule does not say how valuation is determined (contract cost vs a valuation table).

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: $0.00 for the first $0.00 + $0.55 × 3,500 per $100.00 over = $1,925.00
  2. Plan review fee: $0.00 for the first $0.00 + $0.03 × 3,500 per $100.00 over = $87.50
  3. Total before trade permits: $2,012.50.

Fees people miss

May also apply (not in the totals above)

  • Mechanical trade permit associated with a building permit: when project includes mechanical work (separate trade permit); fee is the greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of the mechanical trade valuation, $55 minimum; $55.00 on the standard projects.
  • Electrical trade permit associated with a building permit: when project includes electrical work (separate trade permit); fee is the greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of the electrical trade valuation, $55 minimum; $55.00 on the standard projects.
  • Plumbing trade permit associated with a building permit: when project includes plumbing work (separate trade permit); fee is the greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of the plumbing trade valuation, $55 minimum; $55.00 on the standard projects.
  • Credit card processing fee: when payment by credit card; $5.16 on the standard projects.
FeeAmount
4th and subsequent plan reviewWhen: 4th and later reviews 10% of original review fee, $50 minimum
Reinspection (1st free, per discipline)When: second and later reinspections $50.00 each
Permit renewalWhen: renewals 25% of original permit fee, $50 min, $1,000 max
Penalty for commencing work before permit issuance (1-2 family)When: work without permit value of permit fee, $1,000 max
Special request / after hours inspectionWhen: special or after-hours inspections $50.00 per discipline
Reissuance of CO (no work)When: CO reissue $100.00 each

Trade permits are separate. Electrical: With a building permit: greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of electrical valuation, $55 minimum. Stand-alone: 0.5% of trade valuation, $55 minimum. Plumbing: Same formula as electrical. Mechanical: Same formula as electrical.

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value.
  2. Submit to City of Knoxville Plans Review and Inspections.
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.
  4. Questions: 865-215-4311 · 400 Main Street, Suite 475, Knoxville, TN 37902

How Knoxville compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $187.50 in Knoxville: 51% below the national median of $380.00.

A $75,000 addition costs $462.50 in Knoxville: 44% below the national median of $820.58.

A $350,000 new home costs $2,012.50 in Knoxville: 31% below the national median of $2,918.63.

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All Tennessee places · Compare side by side

Knoxville permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Knoxville, TN?

A $25,000 remodel: $187.50. A $75,000 addition: $462.50. A $350,000 new single-family: $2,012.50. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

Is plan review included in the Knoxville permit fee?

No. Plan review is charged separately at its own fee table (minimum $50.00).

How does Knoxville determine project value?

Not stated in the schedule. Fees are a percentage of project valuation; the schedule does not say how valuation is determined (contract cost vs a valuation table).

Are electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits included?

No. They are separate permits. Electrical: With a building permit: greater of 0.15% of total project valuation or 0.5% of electrical valuation, $55 minimum. Stand-alone: 0.5% of trade valuation, $55 minimum. Plumbing: Same formula as electrical. Mechanical: Same formula as electrical.

When did these Knoxville fees take effect?

The schedule does not state an effective date. We last checked it against the official source on Nov 4, 2026.