BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Salt Lake City, UT (2026)

Salt Lake City prices building permits with a fee table based on project value, with a $55.97 minimum, then charges plan review at 65% of the permit fee. Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective Jun 16, 2026
  • Verified Nov 4, 2026
Minimum fee
$55.97
Plan review
65%
$75k addition
$1,940

Permit fee calculator

Salt Lake City schedule, eff. Jun 16, 2026
Project type
Estimated permit fees $1,940.35
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    $925.97 for the first $50,000.00 + $10.00 × 25 per $1,000.00 over
    $1,175.97
  2. 2. Plan review fee
    65% of $1,175.97
    $764.38

May also apply (not in the total)

  • Expedited building plan review
    When: optional expedited review
    $764.38
  • Credit card use surcharge
    When: payment by credit card
    $47.54

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$950.35
$575.97 building permit + $374.38 plan review
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
$1,940.35
$1,175.97 building permit + $764.38 plan review
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$5,652.85
$3,425.97 building permit + $2,226.88 plan review

How Salt Lake City calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using a fee table based on project value, with a $55.97 minimum. Plan review is a separate charge: 65% of the permit fee. Electrical, plumbing and mechanical work gets its own permits.

The fee table

Project valueFee
$1 – $500$55.97
$501 – $2,000$55.97 for the first $500 + $4.00 per additional $100 or fraction
$2,001 – $25,000$115.97 for the first $2,000 + $20.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$25,001 – $50,000$575.97 for the first $25,000 + $14.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$50,001 – $100,000$925.97 for the first $50,000 + $10.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$100,001 – $500,000$1,425.97 for the first $100,000 + $8.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
$500,001 – $1,000,000$4,625.97 for the first $500,000 + $7.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction
Over $1,000,000$8,125.97 for the first $1,000,000 + $5.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction

What counts as project value

Not stated in the schedule. Building permit fees are based on 'Total project valuation' (City Code 18.32.035); the fee schedule does not say how valuation is determined.

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: $1,425.97 for the first $100,000.00 + $8.00 × 250 per $1,000.00 over = $3,425.97
  2. Plan review fee: 65% of $3,425.97 = $2,226.88
  3. Total before trade permits: $5,652.85.

Fees people miss

May also apply (not in the totals above)

  • Expedited building plan review: when optional expedited review; $374.38 on the standard projects.
  • Credit card use surcharge: when payment by credit card; $23.28 on the standard projects.
FeeAmount
Hourly plan reviewWhen: deferred plan review items, project changes after issuance, non-building permit reviews $146.00 per hour
Identical plan reviewWhen: identical plans (Utah Code 10-9a-510) 30% of standard plan review fee
Renewing expired plan reviewWhen: expired plan review half the original plan review fee, max $1,606, plus $182/hour for code-change review (2-hour minimum)
Demolition permit application, 5–2,000 sq ftWhen: demolition $100.00 each
Impact fees, single family (per unit)When: new dwelling units fire $171, park $5,173, police $59, transportation $429 per unit; storm water $374 per 1/4 acre

Trade permits are separate. Electrical: Separate residential and commercial electrical schedules (commercial base fee $59, minimum $40). Not extracted. Plumbing: Base fee $59 plus per-fixture fees (e.g. fixture or trap $8 each). Mechanical: Separate mechanical permit schedule; not extracted.

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value.
  2. Submit to Salt Lake City Community and Neighborhoods (Building Services) through Accela Citizen Access.
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.
  4. Questions: 801-535-6000

How Salt Lake City compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $950.35 in Salt Lake City: about 2.5 times the national median of $380.00, and the highest of 6 places we cover in Utah (state median $551.66).

A $75,000 addition costs $1,940.35 in Salt Lake City: about 2.4 times the national median of $820.58, and the 3rd highest of 6 places we cover in Utah (state median $1,451.96).

A $350,000 new home costs $5,652.85 in Salt Lake City: 94% above the national median of $2,918.63, and the 2nd highest of 6 places we cover in Utah (state median $3,877.00).

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All Utah places · Compare side by side

Salt Lake City permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Salt Lake City, UT?

A $25,000 remodel: $950.35. A $75,000 addition: $1,940.35. A $350,000 new single-family: $5,652.85. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

Is plan review included in the Salt Lake City permit fee?

No. Plan review is charged separately at 65% of the permit fee.

How does Salt Lake City determine project value?

Not stated in the schedule. Building permit fees are based on 'Total project valuation' (City Code 18.32.035); the fee schedule does not say how valuation is determined.

Are electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits included?

No. They are separate permits. Electrical: Separate residential and commercial electrical schedules (commercial base fee $59, minimum $40). Not extracted. Plumbing: Base fee $59 plus per-fixture fees (e.g. fixture or trap $8 each). Mechanical: Separate mechanical permit schedule; not extracted.

When did these Salt Lake City fees take effect?

The schedule is effective Jun 16, 2026 (“Consolidated Fee Schedule amended 06/16/2026 by Ord. 2026-29 (FY2027)”). We last checked it against the official source on Nov 4, 2026.