BuildingPermitCost

Building Permit Fees in Conway, AR (2026)

Conway prices building permits with $0.11 per square foot, with a $250.00 minimum. Enter your project to see the exact math.

  • Official city schedule
  • Effective Mar 16, 2026
  • Verified Nov 5, 2026
Minimum fee
$250.00
Plan review
—
$75k addition
$50

Permit fee calculator

Conway schedule, eff. Mar 16, 2026
Project type
Estimated permit fees $50.00
  1. 1. Building permit fee
    400 sq ft × $0.11 → minimum $50.00
    $50.00

Plan review fee not published; ask the permit office.

May also apply (not in the total)

  • Plumbing + building permit (residential)
    When: the project includes plumbing work
    $50.00
  • Mechanical + building permit (residential)
    When: the project includes mechanical work
    $50.00
  • Electrical + building permit (residential)
    When: the project includes electrical work
    $50.00
  • Permit review fee
    When: the permit review fee is charged on the permit
    $25.00

Fees are estimates based on the official schedule linked below. Confirm with the permit office before applying. Separate electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire, impact, utility and school fees are usually not included unless they are listed. BuildingPermitCost is not a government permit office, and this is not legal advice.

What common projects cost

Kitchen or bath remodel
$25,000 value, remodel 300 sq ft
$50.00
$50.00 building permit
Room addition
$75,000 value, addition 400 sq ft
$50.00
$50.00 building permit
New single-family home
$350,000 value, new single-family 2,400 sq ft
$264.00
$264.00 building permit

How Conway calculates your permit fee

The city charges a building permit fee using $0.11 per square foot, with a $250.00 minimum. Electrical, plumbing and mechanical work gets its own permits.

The fee table

Residential new construction

$0.11 per square foot, with a $250.00 minimum.

Residential addition

$0.11 per square foot, with a $50.00 minimum.

Residential remodeling

$1.00 per $1,000 of project value, with a $50.00 minimum.

Commercial new construction

$0.14 per square foot, with a $250.00 minimum.

Commercial addition

$0.14 per square foot, with a $75.00 minimum.

Commercial remodeling

$1.00 per $1,000 of project value, with a $75.00 minimum.

What counts as project value

Floor area (square feet). Residential new construction, additions and accessory structures are priced per 'total under roof square footage'; remodeling is '$1 per $1,000 of the total cost of construction' (how cost is verified is not stated).

Worked example: a $350,000 new home

  1. Building permit fee: 2,400 sq ft × $0.11 = $264.00
  2. Total before trade permits: $264.00.

Fees people miss

May also apply (not in the totals above)

  • Permit review fee: when the permit review fee is charged on the permit; $25.00 on the standard projects.
  • Plumbing + building permit (residential): when the project includes plumbing work; $50.00 on the standard projects.
  • Mechanical + building permit (residential): when the project includes mechanical work; $50.00 on the standard projects.
  • Electrical + building permit (residential): when the project includes electrical work; $50.00 on the standard projects.
FeeAmount
Re-inspect/additional inspection feeWhen: re-inspection or additional inspection $25.00 per inspection
Work commenced before permit issuanceWhen: work started before permit issued double the appropriate permit fee
Building code appealsWhen: appeal filed $250.00 each
Impact feesWhen: new development

Trade permits are separate. Plumbing: Plumbing + building permit: residential $0.054 per total under roof sq ft (min $50), commercial $0.0687 (min $75). Stand alone: residential $50, commercial $75. Mechanical: Mechanical + building permit: residential $0.054 per total under roof sq ft (min $50), commercial $0.0687 (min $75). Stand alone: residential $50, commercial $75. Electrical: Electrical + building permit: residential $0.054 per total under roof sq ft (min $50), commercial $0.0687 (min $75). Stand alone: residential $50 (printed 'Minimum of $75').

How to apply

  1. Gather your plans and your project's total value and floor area.
  2. Submit to Building Permits & Inspections through Civic Access Portal.
  3. Pay the permit and plan review fees when invoiced.
  4. Questions: Conway City Hall, 1111 Main St, Conway, AR

How Conway compares

A $25,000 remodel costs $50.00 in Conway: 87% below the national median of $380.00.

A $75,000 addition costs $50.00 in Conway: 94% below the national median of $820.58.

A $350,000 new home costs $264.00 in Conway: 91% below the national median of $2,918.63.

Same standard projects everywhere, including plan review and required surcharges. All Arkansas places · Compare side by side

Conway permit fee FAQ

How much is a building permit in Conway, AR?

A $25,000 remodel: $50.00. A $75,000 addition: $50.00. A $350,000 new single-family: $264.00. These include every fee the schedule applies to that project; trade permits are separate.

How does Conway determine project value?

Floor area (square feet). Residential new construction, additions and accessory structures are priced per 'total under roof square footage'; remodeling is '$1 per $1,000 of the total cost of construction' (how cost is verified is not stated).

Are electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits included?

No. They are separate permits. Plumbing: Plumbing + building permit: residential $0.054 per total under roof sq ft (min $50), commercial $0.0687 (min $75). Stand alone: residential $50, commercial $75. Mechanical: Mechanical + building permit: residential $0.054 per total under roof sq ft (min $50), commercial $0.0687 (min $75). Stand alone: residential $50, commercial $75. Electrical: Electrical + building permit: residential $0.054 per total under roof sq ft (min $50), commercial $0.0687 (min $75). Stand alone: residential $50 (printed 'Minimum of $75').

When did these Conway fees take effect?

The schedule is effective Mar 16, 2026 (“Ordinance No. O-26-__ passed February 10, 2026; 'in full effect as of March 16th, 2026'”). We last checked it against the official source on Nov 5, 2026.